Voting the Faith

in God we trust

Even though election day is still a while away, it seems like as good a time as any to discuss this topic.

As a passionate Catholic, I vote Catholic. It doesn’t matter to me what the political party in question is, and my priorities are arranged according to my Faith. (That being said, I don’t tend to vote in favor of liberal Democrats since they almost never support authentic Catholic values and I do tend to favor conservative Republicans because they usually support some key Catholic values. I have to do my homework, though because every once in a while a “conservative Republican” will turn out to have a secret anti-Catholic values agenda.) What matters is that the candidate values religious liberty and doesn’t support any of the five “non-negotiables” that we Catholics are obliged to vote against in order to remain in God’s grace.

Note of warning: Not all politicians who claim to be Catholic or Christian live that faith or support the values Christ would want him/her to. Another reason research is key.

Here are some links I find helpful when researching candidates:

11825827_10207410780291679_1145554811209691115_n

4 thoughts on “Voting the Faith

Leave a comment